top of page
  • Writer's picturePreetha George

FIVE Simple steps to a minimal nursery wall decor

Like you might know from my earlier blog posts, my main idea with the whole nursery+bedroom space was to keep things minimal, which meant as less cluttered as possible but at the same time comfortably meeting all our needs.

It only seemed fair to have the decor be minimal too. For the most part I like walls in a room to be white and bare with only one wall being the highlight wall that has all the decor.

For our nursery decor, that's exactly how I approached it, I planned to decorate the wall where the changing table was going to go, assuming this is where our baby would spend most of his time awake, getting his nappy changed:D

While researching and reading up on new borns I found some interesting facts that had authentic scientific studies backing them.

  • It was found that since a new borns retina is not fully developed at birth, they do not detect colors at first. black, white and grays are what they see.

  • Visual simulation helps the baby's brain develop, which means if you provide continuous visual input into your baby’s eyes, the retina thrives, the optic nerve grows, and the visual part of baby’s brain thrives and develops by leaps and bounds.

  • And the best way you as a parent/caregiver can stimulate your baby’s vision is using black and white stripes or light and dark contrasting colors, which I found funny since we are so drawn to pastels for babies, yes pastels are absolutely more cuter than black and white but its more for us than the baby.


This helped me narrow down my decor ideas to keeping it simple with black and white as colors and a simple shape.


Here is how I decorated the nursery wall in 5 simple steps:


  1. I picked one shape to work with, a triangle.

  2. I then went ahead and made triangle decals for the wall using black vinyl. you can buy my decals here

3. I measured out the wall on which this decal would go, and divided them into a grid so everything would be evenly spaced out.


4. I made the grid using a painters tape to give me a visual idea as to where I should place the decals.

5.I then simply went about sticking the triangles at regular intervals and viola it was done!!


It took me less than 30 mins to get the whole thing done. Let me know if you try this out :)



106 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page