top of page
  • Writer's picturePreetha George

IKEA Nightstand transformation

IKEA hacks are all over the internet and its been trending for a while now.

I absolutely love the idea of furniture transformations for more reasons than one, it's great especially for people who have a very specific vision for the look they want to create and can't seem to find the right pieces in stores or for budget shoppers who probably would like a look but can't spend that money just yet.

As you know by now, I absolutely love the idea of Re-purposing. It not only reduces waste, saves money but also helps create fun pieces in your home that has a special personal touch.


I found this IKEA nightstand on Facebook market place for a steal price of $15. You can also find it on their website here at a very reasonable price.

When I picked it up I noticed it had a few crayon marks on it, the previous owner had a 4 year old daughter and the little artist went to town on it with her yellow crayons, lol!

I didn't mind it, I gave it a quick sand down to remove the yellow drawings on it and it was as good as new.

I planned on using this piece in our bedroom which is also going to be the baby's nursery for a bit, I kept the theme there simple for his little eyes to adapt to, plain black, white and grays and some geometric shapes. Read more about that here.

I wanted this piece to follow the same theme, so here's how the transformation looked once it was done.





If you are interested in learning how to do this in F O U R simple steps, Keep reading:


What you will need for this:

  • IKEA Tarva nightstand

  • Sand paper

  • Painters tape

  • Paint of your choice

Now on to the process:


1. Sand down the nightstand well before you start, give it a quick wipe down with a dry cloth right after. (P.S: Sanding is only necessary when you want to stain the wood after but I did it to clean my surface of the yellow marks I earlier mentioned, sanding helps strip the wood of any unwanted layers over the wood.)



2. Now apply a coat of primer before you apply the first coat of paint, this helps the paint stay on longer. I skipped this step because I initially stained the wood and ended up not liking the look. Make sure you leave the primer to dry over night before you apply your first coat of paint.

I usually use this primer. You can now start painting the color you picked for the bottom half, (white in my case) randomly up to the height you decide you want it to go up to. Don't worry about getting it perfect, we will fix this in the end.











3. Now, apply a painters tape across the nightstand at the height you want the two colors to overlap and paint the rest of the piece with the color you picked for the top half (black in my case).





4. Once this is done, simply peel off the painters tape, and there you have it, your new nightstand just the way you wanted it! P.S: Don't forget to apply a quick coat of polyurethane to protect the paint and help it last longer.






Here is how the final product looked, I ended up painting the drawer knob as well but you could just replace the knob with one of your choice too. I absolutely love the new look, and I'm satisfied with saving a piece of furniture that probably would have ended up in the trash!











135 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page