top of page
  • Writer's picturePreetha George

Create your own gallery wall

Updated: Jan 24, 2020

So over the holidays, we had some time on our hands and wanted to change the layout of our living room up. One thing led to another and we decided to take down the wall Mounted TV which left a few holes on the wall. I knew If I left the holes on the wall it would eventually bother me and so I decided to cover them up quickly. It had to be a quick, easy project with stuff I have around the house so that it wouldn’t end up on the to-do list with the other hundred projects :D. I love gallery walls and can never have enough pictures around the house. After Z was born we never really got a chance to put up any of his pictures, so this seemed liked the perfect opportunity. And thus began my next project.

So here is how I came up with this quick, easy gallery wall:


1. I decided to use some canvas that I had from a previous project. You can buy these at any craft store. I used a 9“ x 12” stretched canvas similar to these.





2. I used black and white pictures for this and so I painted my canvas black, just the edges and sides will do since we are covering it up with pictures anyway.


3.Print out your picture, I printed out an 8”x11”since I couldn’t do bigger sizes on my home printer. But if you decide to get it printed at a print shop, do one the size of the canvas so you can have the picture end to end, this would look much better in my opinion.


4. Apply some mod podge on to the canvas(make sure the paint on the canvas is dry before you do this. If you’re like me and have no patience to wait for the paint to dry, use a hair dryer and blow dry it under 2 mins). Now position the picture on to the canvas print side up and stick it down. Once its stuck in place, go over it with a generous amount of mod podge and seal it. TIP: Don’t go over the mod podge coat several times, wait for it to dry before you do another coat or it will give streaks and ruin the image.


Also, make sure you apply the mod podge in one direction, once it dries it will have a texture to it and you want it to be as neat as possible. Here’s a close-up to show you what I mean by that.


Wait for the mod podge to dry overnight and you’re ready to hang these beauties on the wall!

let me know in the comments below if you end up trying this, I would love to see pictures :)







151 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page